2003-01-16 8:39 p.m.

Let's All Go To The Protest

I'm on a mailing list that's mostly made up of Bay Area people. Someone sent out a "reminder" today asking that those who are against going to war with Iraq come to the peace march in San Francisco this weekend. I posted a reply saying that while I agree with the goals of the march, I didn't see what purpose going to a protest about it served. After all, the rest of the country knows (and doesn't much care) what the collective Bay Area opinion on this is, and during the last Gulf War, even our own local media underreported the numbers and downplayed the story as much as they possibly could.

Utter. Freaking. Silence.

Not one person, not even the original poster, stepped up to try to convince me that it was productive. No one even called into question my liberal cred or accused me of being apathetic or cynical or wanting to kill little Iraqi babies. Just no response whatsoever. I don't know what to make of that.

Does anyone still really believe that walking down Market Street is going to change the world, or are people just going along with it because they don't know what else to do?

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com