2003-03-12 7:34 a.m.

101 Shiny Facts (Mostly) About Me

Looking for the old Magpie 101 (cast list/favorite entries) page? It's here.

  1. I'm 33, at least for the next little while.

  2. People tend to assume that I'm in my mid-twenties, which I'm not so sure is a good thing.

  3. I've had Internet access for almost half my life.

  4. I have horrible eyesight. Were it not for the blessing of contacts and polycarbonate lenses, I'd have to wear huge coke-bottle glasses and would probably have a permanent dent in my nose.

  5. #3 and #4 are not connected. Crappy eyesight runs in my family.

  6. I don't care if my socks match, as long as they're the same thickness.

  7. This drives TheBoy nuts.

  8. 8. I forget what 8 was for.

  9. My Myers-Briggs type is INFJ.

  10. INFJs are the rarest type, less than 2% of the population.

  11. One of my oldest friends is also an INFJ.

  12. I have no tattoos. I'm too pale.

  13. I'm also freaked out by needles.

  14. Worst job: a one-day temp job handing out Christian fundamentalist motivational tapes at a Zig Ziglar conference.

  15. This was during my brief pagan phase.

  16. No, I had no idea what I was getting into.

  17. Neither did the temp agency. The woman who sent me out on the job apologized profusely afterwards.

  18. Despite TheCat's witless adoration of TheBoy, I'm the only one she allows to pick her up.

  19. Cynicism is the flip side of idealism.

  20. Sweetcheeks and I were raised with no religion whatsoever.

  21. My grandmother would periodically have fits that my father wasn't sending us to Sunday school.

  22. I'm a vegetarian but have no opinion on what you should be eating.

  23. I will never be a vegan, because soy lattes are just wrong.

  24. I've missed only two elections since becoming old enough to vote.

  25. I've never not had a cat.

  26. My clothes are always covered in cat hair.

  27. Despite the fact that a lot of things NOW has said recently make me twitch, I still refer to myself as a feminist.

  28. Favorite TV shows at the moment: Scrubs, Ed and Trading Spaces.

  29. I'm the only woman in my group of sysadmins.

  30. There are only a handful of women in technical roles at bigwannabe.com, which proportionately speaking is neither more nor less than at your average high-tech company.

  31. ZDnet ran an article on its news page in early 2000 called "Net shatters not-so-sacred gender myths". It started out, "The roaring new economy is a genderless frontier with equal opportunity for men and women."

  32. . . .

  33. I have a serious Calistoga habit.

  34. Buttercup is my favorite Powerpuff Girl.

  35. First concert: Duran Duran, at the Oakland Coliseum Arena. (Yep, I'm old.)

  36. I hate camping. Our ancestors built civilization for a reason.

  37. I've never had major surgery.

  38. I have the worst wisdom tooth removal story ever, which was plenty major enough. The story involves a saw, dumping my then-boyfriend for neglect, projectile vomiting and Jehovah's Witnesses.

  39. I went to high school with some of the same people who were in my kindergarten class.

  40. Our first teacher was a gentle hippie idealist who quit halfway through the year to go back to construction. Apparently we broke him.

  41. I'm a sucker for a great bass line.

  42. Which explains why I've been playing the White Stripes' Seven Nation Army over and over and over...

  43. I've been in 27 states but only lived in two.

  44. I can't wait for the new Harry Potter book to come out. See #1.

  45. I have a phone line for my own convenience, not everyone else's.

  46. Caller ID is the best invention ever.

  47. Well, ok, after TiVO.

  48. Favorite British slang term: "soppy."

  49. Thank you, Terry Pratchett.

  50. Put down the coffee and back away slowly.

  51. I've never had a strong interest in having kids.

  52. My attitude on that has softened a bit in the past few years, though.

  53. If I were a mom I'd be a total hardass.

  54. Love wine, hate beer.

  55. Three continents down, four to go.

  56. Jon Stewart is my TV boyfriend.

  57. I started reading at three and a half and haven't stopped since.

  58. I've never kept a paper diary.

  59. Small earthquakes don't bother me but tornados scare the crap out of me. It's all about what you're used to.

  60. I have exactly two piercings -- one hole in each ear. (See the bit about needles above.)

  61. I auditioned for Win Ben Stein's Money but didn't make it past the play test. (I didn't project my voice well enough. D'oh!)

  62. It takes a year to paint the Golden Gate Bridge from one end to the other, and then they have to start all over again. Bridge painters are modern Sisyphuses. Sisyphi. Sisyphes?

  63. Don't ask me how to do Greek plurals -- I took French and Latin.

  64. One of my geekier posessions is a copy of Winnie Ille Pu.

  65. My memory is really spotty. I still have trouble remembering my cell phone number after two years but I could sing you my nursery school's alma mater.

  66. "Ladybug Preschool in the sun, Ladybug Preschool in the sun." *curtsy*

  67. I'm a slob.

  68. And a packrat.

  69. The word "dude" is not the bastion of illiterates, but an important and beloved part of northern California culture. One of my friends and I once had an entire conversation saying nothing but "dude." It is one of the most versatile words in the English language, right up there with "fuck."

  70. I'm a huge A's fan. (Only a surprising and unknown fact to anyone who started reading my diary after October, but just you wait.)

  71. Favorite color: burgundy.

  72. I rarely buy makeup but have a shower full of bath and hair products.

  73. My parents are still married.

  74. Yes, to each other.

  75. My mother stayed at home once she got married (young), while I've been working ever since I've been old enough to do so. Mom and I have a pretty good relationship but this is one of several points of mutual incomprehension.

  76. Famous people I like no matter what they do: Steve Zahn, Janeane Garofalo, John Cusack, William H. Macy, Busta Rhymes, Cate Blanchett.

  77. Queen Latifah almost made that list, but then Burning Down the House came out.

  78. Famous people I don't like no matter what they do: Britney Spears, Jack Nicholson, Eugene Levy, Kelly Osborne, Gwyneth Paltrow, most of the cast of Friends.

  79. I used to think I might like Britney better if she stopped being such a hypocrite and dropped the "pure as the driven snow" act. I was wrong.

  80. The car I'm driving now is the first one I purchased new.

  81. It's also the first car I've owned that's been less than 8 years old and that I paid more than $1200 for.

  82. I love the water. Doesn't matter if I'm in it, on it or near it.

  83. I'm constantly battling my inner cheapskate. I blame Grandpa Dad for handing down that particular gene.

  84. Power tools are a girl's best friend.

  85. Favorite non-pet animal: the platypus.

  86. I hate hate hate it when ads use songs I like.

  87. I have freakishly small pinky toes.

  88. I used to subscribe to the Weekly World News. (Gotta keep up on the latest dead Elvis happenings.)

  89. I look good in hats.

  90. Drink of choice: anything with cranberry or citrus. Lemon drops, cosmos, greyhounds, mojitos... mmm, yummy.

  91. I rarely polish my nails. I hate the way it feels on my fingers, and it starts flaking off in less than a day anyway.

  92. I want a dog but TheCat won't let me get one.

  93. Civilization III is akin to crack.

  94. "Flavored" coffees are an abomination. I like my coffee coffee-flavored. A dusting of cocoa or ground cinnamon is good on a latte, but none of that Hazelnut Tutti-Frutti crap.

  95. Most frequent argument with TheBoy: who could kick whose ass at Trivial Pursuit.

  96. Maybe if I ever find my set we'll settle that argument.

  97. Number of times I moved in my childhood: 1.

  98. Number of times I moved in college: 18.

  99. I collect floaty pens.

  100. This list owes a great deal to Pop-Up Video.

  101. I still haven't decided what I want to be when I grow up.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com