2002-09-27 10:23 p.m.

(It's Still) Friday (In California) Five: Relaxing

Friday Five:

1. What are your favorite ways to relax and unwind?

Curling up with a book and the cat. Once I have room, I'll slack in the customary manner of my people: sitting in the back yard with a few friends or family members and a glass of something cold, and doing absolutely nothing. It doesn't get quite hot enough here for that, but I can pretend.

2. What do you do the moment you get home from work/school/errands?

Chuck my purse across the couch. (Any purse I buy must pass the Toss Test: if I can't throw it across the couch or car seat without all my stuff going flying, then I don't buy it.) Plonk down on the couch, remove cat from lap, take off left shoe, remove cat from lap, take off right shoe, try to pet cat and get bopped with her paw as punishment.

3. What are your favorite aromatherapeutic smells?

I like grassy and citrus smells, but stuff labeled "aromatherapy," usually some weird concoction like Orange Ginger Tostito, gives me raging headaches. I don't get why that's supposed to be therapeutic.

4. Do you feel more relaxed with a group of friends or hanging out by yourself?

Depends on the friends. I find small groups much more relaxing than large ones; much more than 5 people and it's hard to keep up a conversation.

5. What is something that you feel is relaxing but most people don't?

Genealogy. I love puttering around utterly quiet libraries filled with geezers, digging up the family secrets. Lots of people don't get what I see in an old people's hobby.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com