2002-07-25 11:00 p.m.

Adventures in Bureaucracy (part 2)

The bureaucracy wasn't as painful as I expected. Most of the people were relatively civil to me as they took my money, and a couple actually tried to be helpful.

The guy at the DMV had a big No Whining sticker behind his desk. He said that the Board of Prisons people had brought them over along with a load of license plates and that they were snapped up in minutes. (He used to have a "No Bitching" sticker but they made him take it down.)

I ended up sprinkling a trail of money across the county before I finally got my car back. (How they expect the suddenly carless to be able to do this is beyond me.) I only owed the DMV $18, but the police got a towing fee and the tow yard got towing and storage fees. And I got to go to the city parking department, just to get a piece of paper saying I didn't owe them any money. (The evil chuckle the clerk made when I asked if I still had to pay the city a towing fee was thrown in for free.)

-=-=-=-

Tomorrow is World Sysadmin Appreciation Day. Yeah, I know -- I can't say it with a straight face either.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com