2003-02-19 9:28 p.m.

Urban Ergonomics

One of my co-workers threw out his back unplugging a machine. So, lucky us, we got to go to an ergonomics class. (One of the HR women had been prowling around with a camera earlier in the week, taking pictures of bad lifting position, so people should have been suspicious sooner.)

"This is a neutral posture," announced the instructor, who'd made a special trip in from the workers' comp insurance company to grace us with her presence and who'd just sat down in a chair in the front of the room. "Put your hands like this and feel where your sit bones are." And twenty people promptly shoved their hands under their asses.

"What you do at home can affect your back health as much as what you do at work. Such as gardening. Does anyone here garden? I know my back just aches after a day gardening. How about work around the house? Or repairing your car? Or lifting your children? All of those can hurt your back as much as anything you do at work."

Twenty childless, public-transit-riding urban apartment dwellers gazed at her, uncomprehending. A couple she had lost back at the concept of "time spent doing things other than work."

But hey, at least there were free cookies.

Later on, a coworker commented, "Now, carrying three loads of laundry up the stairs -- that's an example that would have made sense." A few others I'd use if I were teaching the class:

If my position ever got eliminated at work, I'm sure HR would be just dying to hire me.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com