2003-05-06 10:50 p.m.

Ten Things I've Been Doing Instead of Updating My Diary

  1. Watching way too much reality tv. Yes, I know I'm on a rapidly-spiraling descent to hell. (Blame my gateway drug, The Surreal Life.) Sign it's getting out of hand: TheBoy called earlier and when I told him I was watching TV, he said, "I didn't know there was a reality show on Tuesdays." He's lucky he was 15 miles away or things would have been thrown at him.

  2. Planning my vacation. The warm-weather clothes I've been ordering online have been trickling in, I've bought a couple of monster bottles of sunblock to take with me (cheaper on the mainland, ya know) and I've finally heard back from the petsitter (who wants to know what everyone's favorite hair-trigger-tempered calico has been up to). Departure day cannot come soon enough.

  3. Hearing about my parents' upcoming vacations. Plural. Between their three vacations and my piddly one vacation, I won't see them until almost the end of June. They leave for France tomorrow, and my mother took it in the proper spirit when I told her that she and Dad sucked. Like I said: Not. Soon. Enough.

  4. Taking my turn as Snark Princess. Everyone at work has been super-edgy, even though the immediate threat of layoffs has passed. (At least until next quarter.) And everyone's gone through a few days of dishing out the rude with an extra helping of snark. This week, I'm afraid it's been my turn -- but at least the Snark Princess tiara has these lovely sparkly bits all over it...

  5. Writing letters to the editor. It's a good way to get the snark out that doesn't involve beating my coworkers to within an inch of their lives.

  6. Driving to work far more than is healthy. Today the parking attendant practically begged me to get a permanent spot.

  7. Not going to the corner coffee shop because I've been running late to work. I had to reassure them that I wasn't being disloyal and going to another coffee shop, just making do with Red Bull and office coffee. "You don't know how sad it is," one told me, "when we see one of our regulars walking by with a Starbucks cup."

    Things I've missed in the past couple of weeks by not going to the coffee shop, according to TheBoy:

    • Superior caffeine in a superior delivery medium.
    • A really cute Weimaraner. Twice.
    • Seeing one of the woman who works there beating several pounds of cream cheese into submission with a spreading knife.

  8. Finally getting out to see some movies. There are few things better than seeing A Mighty Wind in a theater packed with aging Berkeley hippies who actually get the joke. (I can't find any lyrics sites, though -- damn you, Internet, for letting me down!)

  9. Generating poems using this site. (Thanks, Dancing Brave!) This one's from my 101 things list. Sadly, it's the most coherent one I've gotten yet:

    the bit
    in the temp
    agency. The English language, right
    up on the same people tend to myself
    as the
    bastion of the same thickness.
    This list favorite TV boyfriend.
    I have
    trouble remembering my group of things NOW
    has said recently
    make me twitch, I hate it
    on what I could sing you
    should be a best friend. Favorite
    animal: the cast of sysadmins.

  10. Planning my vacation. OK, I already said that. But can I go now? Please? Pretty please?

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com