2003-02-26 12:38 a.m.

Submarine Nets for the 21st Century

I used to wonder what it must have been like to live in the Bay Area during World War II, when people went about their daily lives with things like shore artillery and submarine nets to protect them from the enemy.

This morning, as I was driving across the Bay Bridge, I noticed two.. things.. that looked kind of like big satellite dishes, one on each side of the massive concrete pier that holds up the west span. Not entirely surprisingly, I wasn't able to find anything about them in various articles around the web, only vague assurances that all kinds of high-tech goodies are keeping people from being blown up on their morning commute.

On that submarine net thing? I think I'm starting to get an inkling.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com