2002-12-12 10:47 p.m.

Maybe The 90s Aren't So Far Gone After All

One of our vendors is having a showing of The Two Towers, to which customers are invited. bigwannabe.com is a customer. Unfortunately, TheBoy is not. So I had to break the news to him that I'll be seeing the movie on opening day, for free, and that I can't bring him. And I knew that it would really chap his ass that I'd be getting a freebie on this particular movie because he had to drag me to the first one kicking and screaming.

The bad news was greeted with a very long frown. "You'll be seeing it without me," TheBoy groused. "I'll have to see it alone."

"Not necessarily. I might want to go see it a second time. Plus there will be all kinds of people clamoring to see this that you can go with." (We do keep company with geeks, after all.)

TheBoy was slightly mollified but wanted to continue punishing me anyway, so he kept frowning. Time to needle him back a little.

"Hey, you could always invite Bud. You could go next door and say, 'Hey, I need a Lord of the Rings buddy!' And he'll say, 'Yeah, I could see it a 64th time!' I'm sure he'd be up for it!"

This suggestion was not received with joy. Spoilsport.

It'd be an exercise in neighborly bonding, even though TheBoy is technically not a neighbor. Also, he could report back on how Bud holds up after two and a half hours without nicotine.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com