2002-12-16 11:00 AM

Peets Don't Fail Me Now

Recent example #193410348132 of why I am a danger to myself and others before that first cup of coffee:

Me: I can't find my purse! I've looked everywhere!

TheBoy: It's under the Cook's Illustrated on the couch.

Me (lifting the magazine, then anxiously flitting off to another part of the apartment): No it's not! Waa! I can't find my purse!

TheBoy (sighing in a world-weary, been-there-done-that kind of way): Here it is, right where I told you it was.

Me (confused look): But it wasn't under the Cook's Illustrated when I looked...

TheBoy: What was under the Cook's Illustrated when you lifted it up?

Me (still confused): The New York Times magazine.

TheBoy: Right. And what was under the New York Times magazine?

Me: Um. The purse?

TheBoy: Yes. Right where it was last night.

Me: But it's morning! You can't expect me to think transitively in the morning!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com