2004-08-23 18:33

How Sweet It Is

This morning I was standing in line waiting for my morning beverage when I saw a guy fixing up his cup of coffee.

The cup was about 2/3 full of coffee. He picked up the sugar dispenser and started pouring sugar into his coffee. And pouring. And pouring. And POURING.

It was kind of like that scene in the first Austin Powers movie when Austin's just been pulled from the deep freeze, and Basil Exposition and Ms. Kensington are waiting for him to finish his first post-thawing pee. At one point our hero stopped pouring in sugar, then thought better of it and started pouring even more in.

I just couldn't look away as he just kept dumping in the sugar. My jaw was probably scraping the ground, but in my horrified fascination I didn't notice or care. Even one of my old Texas friends, who puts so much sugar in his iced tea that it actually makes crunching noises when you stir it, would have found this over the top. I got insulin shock just watching.

Finally, when the cup was almost full, he put in a little splash of milk and went on his way. He must have dumped at least 1/4 cup of sugar in that coffee.

I think it's about time I bought some stock in C&H, because if he keeps this up I'll be a rich woman. Think that would be insider trading?

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com