2003-02-20 10:35 p.m.

That Fickle Morning Luck

I looked at my keys after I'd closed the door. Big mistake.

The keys for my apartment and my car? Inside. The keys for the folks' place, a couple of friends' apartments, my last car, a couple of mystery padlocks and God only knows what else? Outside, with me, along with three technical books, each the size of a doorstop. I was going to throw them in the trunk of my car and drive into work, arriving early for a meeting, but with my keys behind my locked apartment door, that was not going to happen.

So I trotted down the street, trying to keep my purse from sliding off my shoulder and my books from flying out of my arms. A large black man ahead of me on the sidewalk started walking a little faster, glancing back at me nervously. I hit the corner store, seeking caffeine (in the form of a Red Bull and a Starbucks Double Shot -- clearly it was shaping up to be that kind of morning) and mercy (in the form of a plastic bag for the lead bricks I was toting around and change for the bus).

Then things started to click. The bus arrived within 30 seconds. The BART train showed up less than two minutes after I'd secured my spot on the platform. I breezed in at 3 minutes after the hour and found out the meeting was cancelled anyway, so I drank my caffeine at leisure.

Funny how your luck can turn on a dime like that.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com