2002-09-20 10:19 p.m.

Friday Five: Keeping in Touch

I'm not only going to be so unoriginal as to do the Friday Five, but I cribbed the idea off of Lorster. How derivative is that?

  1. Would you say that you're good at keeping in touch with people?
    I'd say I completely suck at it. Just ask my poor, put-upon loved ones how often I check my voice mail.

  2. Which communication method do you usually prefer/use: e-mail, telephone, snail mail, blog comments, or meeting in person? Why?
    E-mail. Hey, I'm a sysadmin, so the best way to get my attention is to throw your message up in my face when I'm at work. I can respond right then if I have time or set it aside for later when things slow down; either way I can put a bit of thought into it. Second would be meeting in person. Forget snail mail... it will just pile up in a drift. My friends don't have blogs for the most part, and a blog comment's a little impersonal for someone I know well enough to wish to keep in touch with. And for the telephone, well, see above, and this entry.

  3. Do you have an instant messenger program? How many? Why/why not? How often do you use it?
    No, no, and hell no. First off, I use a Sun at work, and I don't believe AIM is even supported. But if it were, I still wouldn't use it. And there's the flip side of being easily reached by e-mail -- I get enough interruptions at work as it is, and a little icon on my desk demanding my attention right now would drive me bats in short order. If I'm at the computer at home long enough to get a message, then that's a sign that I really need to look into getting a life and get away from the computer already.

  4. Do most of your close friends live nearby or far away?
    Nearby. Many of the people I'm friends with now I've known for ages. We all scattered after high school or college, and as we started to hit our 30s we all gradually made our way home. I still have a few friends from my time out of state, but they, too, scattered; it's part of the reason I didn't stay. E-mail comes in handy for keeping in touch with them.

  5. Are you an "out of sight, out of mind" person, or do you believe that "distance makes the heart grow fonder"?
    Neither, really. Friendships find their level. Either you fall out of touch and stay out of touch, or you fall out of touch and when you see each other again it's like you saw each other yesterday.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com