2002-09-19 10:00 p.m.

Book Review: The Idiot Girls' Action Adventure Club

If you're looking for something Diarylandish, in portable, easy-to-digest bites, check out The Idiot Girls' Action Adventure Club, by Laurie Notaro .

Notaro is the late thirtiesish humor columnist for the Arizona Republic, and this book is a selection of her columns. Think of it as a diary, but with more boobs and poop. You got your gynecological adventures ("Open Wide"), your scary neighbor children with gigantic hedge trimmers ("Amy's Mom, the Fairy and the Hedge Clippers" and "For the Birds" - I laughed until I couldn't breathe at the ending of the latter), relationship woes ("The Speech"), the shame of underachievement ("Survival of the Fittest -- Kind Of" and much of the rest of the book, actually), Catholic grandmas learning new things about sex ("Moral Sex"), and jury duty (as in this excerpt from "Going Courtin'"):

Then from out of nowhere, the judge belted out, "This case concerns a DUI. Do you know anyone that has a drinking problem?"

I don't know anyone that doesn't have a drinking problem.

"Do you know anyone that has been involved in Alcoholics Anonymous or an addiction recovery program?"

That's how I met my second-to-last boyfriend.

"Do you know anyone that has been involved in a DUI?"

Uh-oh.

All this in an eminently readable-on-public-transit package.

Given that my most popular non-"What's Shiny Today" entry is called "Toilet Fishing ," you should be all over this book. Let no one say I don't know how to keep my one loyal reader happy.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com