2002-09-04 3:25 PM

No Spoiled Brides!

Got some spam the other day from someone named Ivana or Svetlana or something along those lines, suggesting that I'm just the one to help her improve her English. Turns out that what that crafty little minx really wanted was to have me whisk her away from her mundane post-Soviet existence and marry her or one of her friends. That website, in turn, referred me to this study on the mail-order bride industry as a reason why I should marry a Russian woman.

The INS says:

Most of the personal reports from American men who have married women through these agencies talk about "traditional values." That is, American women are thought not content to be wives and mothers but seek personal satisfaction through their own careers and interests, while the foreign woman is happy to be the homemaker and asks for nothing more than husband, home, and family.

I mean, God forbid women should have interests. But ok, if these guys want to idealize the '50s and can find women to go along with their kink, not my problem. But wait, it gets creepier:

Older men, says Glodava, often want women "they can mold" and therefore do not want those who are too educated. "They would just become like any other American woman," they said. She concludes that, "It is apparent that power and control are critical for the men." [...]
What portion of the women intend to use marriage to gain permanent resident alien status cannot be ascertained, of course, since we cannot know what is in the woman's mind, but a reading of the self-descriptions they offer and their willingness to marry men of advanced age and dubious character attests to this intention.

None of this should be surprising. What melts my brain is the fact that a mail-order bride linked to this study as an implied endorsement of buying a wife. What, control freaks can't read?

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com