2002-06-18 9:21 p.m.

Bricks Are My Birthright

Guess what's in my oven right now?

No, really -- guess!

That's right -- two plump little loaves of Healthful Whole-Grain Bread. The telemarketers called my bluff, though, and left me to my kneading.

For my recipe I turned to Anna Thomas' The Vegetarian Epicure, a 1970s vegetarian cookbook that tends towards the eggy and cheesy but also has lots ef recipes that have held up really well. (And you've gotta love a book that recommends a course two hours after the meal, for when your guests get the munchies from their marijuana digestif.)

This kind of stuff is my culinary birthright as a Bay Area native, along with good wine, fresh produce year-round, Calistoga and It's-Its.

Update: My two plump little loaves turned out like two plump little bricks. Not quite as bad as the duck-killing hippie bread in About a Boy, but close. I suspect that I didn't knead the dough enough. Oh well, at least the yeast proofed, and I can eat it without chipping my teeth. Better luck next time!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com