2002-06-06 8:55 PM

Squid DO's and DONT's!

Lately TheBoy's been driving me in to work. ("Like I have anything better to do these days," he opines, unemployedly. It gets him out of the house, plus he sometimes scores coffee out of the deal, depending on how late we're running, so it's all for the good.)

The sheer number of squids we see on the way in is astounding. It doesn't even get all that hot here, yet there are uncountable numbers of riders who think that riding through the morning fog at 65 mph, on a big overpowered motorcycle, weaving in and out of traffic, while wearing shorts, is somehow a good idea. (I don't even ride and I get worked up over this.)

One morning I'm going to bring my digital camera with me and start culling material for a new website, a cross between Glamour's "Do's and Don'ts" fashion column and the late, lamented Highway 17 Hall of Shame. It will feature photos of bikers in inadequate gear, doing stupid things, and they'll have black bars Photoshopped over their eyes. I'm calling it "Squid DOs and DON'Ts!"

www.squid-dos-and-donts.com. Unless the Northern California squid community is suddenly and collectively seized by a fit of common sense, look for it soon in a browser near you.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com