2002-05-31 8:13 p.m.

My Cat Finds True Love

My cat has found true love.

She's spurned her most recent passion, the 320-thread count damask stripe comforter cover I bought a couple of weeks ago that almost perfectly matches her eyes, in favor of my new desk chair.

Well, not new, per se, but new to her. In her world, there's In The Apartment and some nebulous Outside. The workings of Outside are a total mystery to her, though she's convinced that little good can come of going there. Mostly things come in from Outside, and if people or things go Outside, they may or may not come back. (The other day, we had to leave at 6 AM to go to my brother's graduation and she was convinced we'd gone on a vacation or worse. She was clingy for the rest of the night.)

So bigwannabe.com was unloading some of its old furniture, and I got a desk chair out of it. I expected the people would like it better than the alternative (a wooden dining chair with a flattened, throw-on cushion -- real geeks don't do ergonomic), but I didn't expect that the cat would take such a shine to it.

In the first several hours of having it in the apartment, the cat was evicted from it at least five times, and I've already had to brush off a substantial accumulation of kitty hair. It's softer than the old chair, a little higher up (the better to keep an eye on things from, not to mention staying current on the best escape routes) and, of course, the color suits her. (Cats seem to have a knack for finding backdrops that make them look good -- preferrably something contrasty for maximum shedding impact -- and mine is no exception.)

And the people like it too. When we get to use it, that is.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com